RDO Mentors

It can sometimes be a little intimidating when you first start contributing to OpenStack. While most of the tickets in the EasyFix queue have a designated mentor, you may also wish to find a mentor based on the area that you're interested in working on.

Or, when you arrive on IRC, and ask a question and are greeted with silence, it can be very useful to know who to ping to get their attention.

The following people have indicated that they're willing to mentor you through your first contributions, or answer your questions on particular topics on IRC. Please don't hesitate to ask. (And, if you're willing to be on the list, please add your name and/or IRC nick below.)

Finally, if you want to contribute to the upstream OpenStack community, there's a similar list called the OpenStack Upstream Institute.

Who to ask

General

  • Alfredo Moralejo – amoralej
  • Alan Pevec – apevec
  • Chandan Kumar – chandankumar
  • David Moreau Simard – dmsimard
  • Haikel Guemar – number80
  • Jakub Ružička – jruzicka
  • Javier Pena – jpena
  • Rich Bowen – rbowen
  • Lars Kellogg-Stedman – larsks
  • Jon Schlueter – jschlueter/yazug

Installation

  • Alfredo Moralejo – amoralej
  • Javier Peña – jpena

Networking

  • Alfredo Moralejo – amoralej

Storage

Packaging

  • Alfredo Moralejo – amoralej
  • Javier Peña – jpena

Infrastructure

  • Alfredo Moralejo – amoralej
  • Javier Peña – jpena

Documentation

  • Rich Bowen – rbowen
  • Petr Kovar – pkovar

Where to ask

Conversations about RDO happen a number of different places on IRC. For a full list of IRC channels related to RDO, see the IRC section in Contribute to RDO.